clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gary Patterson: Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year?

Now in it's eighth season, Liberty Mutual has been awarding a coach of the year award annually to the coach who is truly great both on and off the field. Today, I make the case that Gary Patterson is this man, and something tells me you will agree.


Not that you need any reminders, but here are three reasons why Gary Patterson should be the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year.

1. He Wins Football Games

Mark Cohen from TCU Athletics pretty much highlights all the reasons why Gary Patterson is a football bad ass in Gary's bio, available on

Gary Patterson now has 119 victories. The previous TCU mark of 109 wins was held by Dutch Meyer (1934-52). Patterson's .763 winning percentage (119-40) ranks fourth among active coaches nationally (minimum 5 years). He is also one of just seven active coaches with at least 100 victories at their current school.

In August 2011, Patterson was named the nation's top coach by Sports Illustrated and ESPN The Magazine. Sporting News tabbed him in January 2012 as the nation's third-best coach.

In leading TCU to back-to-back BCS appearances in the 2009 and 2010 seasons, including a 2011 Rose Bowl championship, Patterson received 10 National Coach of the Year honors.

Patterson has produced at least 10 wins in eight of the last 10 years, including seven seasons of 11 or more victories. He has led the Horned Frogs to seven conference titles and 14 bowl games in 15 years.

Despite losing 26 seniors to graduation off his Rose Bowl championship team, Patterson led a 2011 TCU squad to a third consecutive Mountain West championship. It's the first time the Horned Frogs won a conference title in three straight seasons. TCU was also the first team in MW history to win the league championship in three consecutive campaigns.

The 2011 campaign saw TCU record its fourth straight 11-win season and became the only program nationally to reach 11 victories in six of the last seven years. TCU is also one of just three schools to win six bowl games in the last seven seasons. The Horned Frogs have reached 10 wins eight times in the last 10 campaigns.

In 2010, Patterson guided the Horned Frogs to an undefeated season and Rose Bowl championship. TCU finished second in the final polls with a 13-0 record, its first perfect campaign since winning the national championship in 1938.

Patterson was named American Football Monthly's 2010 Coach of the Year as he led TCU to its second straight BCS game. Other recent honors for Patterson include the Exchange Club of Fort Worth recognizing him as Fort Worth's Outstanding Citizen for 2010, while the National Football Foundation's Gridiron Club of Dallas selected him for its 2011 Distinguished Texan Award.

Patterson also received the 2010 TCU Chancellor's Staff Award for Outstanding Service.

In 2009, Patterson was selected for nine national coaching honors after leading TCU to a 12-1 record, No. 6 ranking and Fiesta Bowl appearance.

Patterson was named National Coach of the Year by the Walter Camp Football Foundation, Associated Press, American Football Coaches Association and Sporting News while also receiving the Bobby Dodd Award, Eddie Robinson Award, Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, George Munger Award and Woody Hayes Award.

Patterson's success on the gridiron is also mirrored in the classroom for his players. In each of the last five seasons, TCU has been recognized by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) as one of the nation's leaders in its graduation rate for student-athletes.

TCU was also one of just four programs to finish in the top 25 in the final 2010 polls and in the Academic Progress Rate (APR).

2. He Gives Back... A Lot

Gary's foundation has had a strong impact on the DFW community over the last decade, primarily focusing on helping children...

The Gary Patterson Foundation is a tax-exempt, non-profit organization dedicated to the support of economically disadvantaged children as well as other charitable causes. The Foundation will provide funding for programs and scholarships that focus on education, life-skills and health & family issues. TCU head football coach Gary Patterson is the founder and serves as its chairman.

But, it is the additional work and charity that has made Gary famous during his tenure at TCU, including a very public display a few years ago that caught many off guard.

After Casey Pachall's DWI arrest and subsequent suspension from the team, Gary announced two things: That Casey would be going to rehab for an alcohol addiction, and that Gary was going to donate $100,000 to an alcohol recovery and support group at TCU. The group, which had only been formed by TCU months earlier, was created to help individuals recover from alcohol addictions with the support of a group made up of their peers. Gary's gift only helped expand that groups effectiveness and role on campus.

3. He Has The Voice Of An Angel

Do me a favor, regardless of whether or not you agree: Go vote right now for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year... The winning coach will take home $50,000 for his charity, and I would sure love to see that money parked in Fort Worth.

Kicking off its eighth season, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award is the only college football award that supports both charity and scholarship through its winners. It honors one coach in each NCAA division - FBS, FCS, Division II and Division III - who best exemplifies responsibility, integrity, sportsmanship and excellence both on and off the field.

Each Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year winner receives $50,000 to support the charity or charities of his choice, and $20,000 is awarded to his school's alumni association to promote scholarship. Since 2006, more than $1.8 million has been distributed to over 100 charities and colleges across the country through the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award program.

Now through December 3, fans can visit or the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Facebook page to cast their vote for the coach in each NCAA division they feel is deserving of this honor.

Following the close of fan voting on December 3, the top 15 coaches with the most fan votes in each of the four college football divisions - FBS, FCS, Division II, and Division III - advance to an evaluation process to determine the finalists. This process utilizes an objective scoring model endorsed by the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame to measure coaching excellence, sportsmanship, integrity, academic success and community commitment.

10 FBS finalists and 5 each in FCS, Division II and Division III will be announced December 10 in conjunction with the National Football Foundation Hall of Fame Class of 2013 induction in New York City. Voting will reopen that day for fans, who also will be joined in casting votes by College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches, and members of the national college football media in determining this season's winners. The 2013 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award winners will be announced Monday, January 6, 2014, in California, in advance of the BCS championship game.

Last year's Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award recipients were Brian Kelly, Notre Dame (FBS); Willie Fritz, Sam Houston State (FCS); Peter Rossomando, University of New Haven (Division II); and Glenn Caruso, University of St. Thomas (Division III).