clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TCU's Trevone Boykin Named Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalist

TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin was listed as one of 16 semifinalists for the prestigious award, presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback.

Justin K. Aller

From the desk of Mark Cohen:

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award has announced TCU's Trevone Boykin as one of 16 semifinalists for this year's honor.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. O'Brien, a TCU standout, won the 1938 Heisman Trophy as he led the Horned Frogs to a national championship that season.

Boykin tops the Big 12 and is fourth nationally in total offense (361.9 yards per game). He is just the third quarterback since 2009 to average over 300 yards per game passing (309.0) and at least 50 yards per game rushing (52.9). The others were Heisman Trophy winners Robert Griffin III and Johnny Manziel.

A junior from Dallas, Boykin has 22 touchdown passes with just four interceptions. He is second on TCU with 423 yards rushing on a career-best 4.5 per carry average.

Boykin became the first quarterback in the 14-season tenure of head coach Gary Patterson to top 250 yards passing in seven consecutive games, establishing the mark in the opening seven contests of the 2014 campaign.

Boykin has had a career-best day in total offense in each of the Horned Frogs' last three home games. He had 395 yards against Oklahoma, 451 versus Oklahoma State and 461 in the Texas Tech game, all TCU victories.

Boykin has led TCU to scoring drives on 51.4 percent of his offensive series this season.

Under Boykin, TCU is on pace to set single-season school records for points, first downs, plays, passing yards and total offense.

Last year, Boykin became the only player in TCU history and the lone player in the nation with a 100-yard rushing, 100-yard receiving and 200-yard passing game.