clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TCU's Trevone Boykin Named a Finalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award

Junior quarterback Trevone Boykin is a finalist for the Walter Camp Award, presented to the collegiate player of the year.

Brendan Maloney-USA TODAY Sports

TCU's Trevone Boykin has been announced as one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. The other finalists are Oregon's Marcus Mariota, Arizona's Scooby Wright III, Wisconsin's Melvin Gordon, and Alabama's Amari Cooper.

According to the Walter Camp Football Foundation website:

The 2014 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, December 11 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston won the award last year.

The winner will receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on Saturday, January 17, 2015 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

And here's what they have to say about Boykin:

Trevone Boykin has completed 249-of-420 passes for 3,254 yards and 26 touchdowns for the high-scoring Horned Frogs (11-1), who ranked third in the nation in scoring offense (46.1 points per game). Boykin has thrown for 300 or more yards in a game five times, including a season-high 433 (and a career-best 7 touchdown passes) on October 25 versus Texas Tech which earned him Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week honors. A dual-threat, Boykin has also rushed for eight touchowns.

Boykin is racking up national attention left and right, deservedly so.