clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TCU Football Announces 2013 Team Award Winners

Several Horned Frogs were honored, including Jason Verrett and Casey Pachall.

Several Horned Frogs received team honors on Friday night, including Jason Verrett, Casey Pachall, and Tevone Boykin.

Here's the full release from SID Mark Cohen:

The TCU football program honored its 2013 senior class at Friday night's team banquet in the Brown-Lupton University Union.

The seniors had a 35-16 record while taking part in two conference championships and winning the 2011 Rose Bowl. The class was 3-1 against top-five ranked opponents, 2-1 in bowl games and 17-7 at Amon G. Carter Stadium.

In voting by his teammates, cornerback Jason Verrett was selected as TCU's Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player for the second consecutive season. Last year, Verrett became the first defensive back to receive the award since cornerback Tony Rand in 1992.

Verrett became the second defensive player in TCU history and just the sixth overall to be a two-time recipient of the Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player award. Previous two-time winners were defensive end Jerry Hughes, (2008-09), quarterback Jeff Ballard (2005-06), tailback LaDainian Tomlinson (1999-00), offensive lineman W.C. Nix (1985-86) and wide receiver Mike Renfro (1976-77).

Verrett, who received his TCU degree in December, was a first-team All-American for the second straight year and the 2013 Co-Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. He was a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, presented to the nation's top defensive back, and a quarterfinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy.

Despite not many balls being thrown his way, he ranked second in the Big 12 and tied for seventh nationally with 1.5 passes defended per game (two interceptions, 14 pass breakups).

Since the start of the 2012 season, Verrett topped the nation with 38 passes defended (eight interceptions, 30 pass breakups). In his final game as a Horned Frog, he limited Antwan Goodley, Baylor's leading receiver, to just one catch for 12 yards while also breaking up two passes. Verrett held Texas Tech's Eric Ward, who had 72 receptions, without a catch for the entire game. When lined up against LSU's Odell Beckham Jr., he allowed just one reception.

Trevone Boykin was selected as TCU's Offensive Most Valuable Player. He had team-high totals of seven rushing touchdowns, seven passing touchdowns and 14 total scores. He placed second on TCU in rushing yards (313) and passing yards (1,198) as well as fifth in receptions (26).

Boykin became the first Horned Frog in history and the only player in the nation last season to record a 100-yard rushing game, 100-yard receiving game and 200-yard passing game. With his 101 yards rushing at Texas Tech, he was the first TCU quarterback since 1987 to run for 100 yards. He also became the first Horned Frog in history to lead in passing yards (133) and receptions (three) in the same game during a 38-17 win over Southeastern Louisiana.

Boykin ran for all three of TCU's touchdowns, including a 1-yard carry for the go-ahead score with 38 seconds to play, in a 21-17 win at Iowa State. The three rushing touchdowns came on just five carries. His career-best 11 receptions for 100 yards against West Virginia were the most by a Horned Frog in 13 seasons under head coach Gary Patterson, the highest total by a TCU player since 1995 and tied for eighth most in a game in TCU history.

Placekicker Jaden Oberkrom was named the Special Teams Most Valuable Player for the second straight season. An honorable-mention All-Big 12 selection, Oberkrom was 14-of-18 on field goals, including a 13-of-14 mark on attempts inside 50 yards. His career-best 56-yard field goal gave TCU the lead at Kansas State with 2:13 to play and tied for the second-longest made kick in school history. It was also just 1-yard shy of a school record.

Oberkrom was perfect on his 37 extra-point attempts, giving him a streak of 79 consecutive makes which ties the TCU career record and is third nationally among active placekickers.

2013 TCU Football Team Award Winners
Defensive Scout Team Most Valuable Players – George Baltimore (Mansfield, Texas)
Offensive Scout Team Most Valuable Player Daniel Walsh (San Diego, Calif.)
Davey O'Brien Fightin'est Frog Award Casey Pachall (Brownwood, Texas)
Grassy Hinton Most Conscientious Award Casey Pachall (Brownwood, Texas)
Y.Q. McCammon Outstanding Squadman Tanner Campbell (Houston, Texas)
Abe Martin Leadership Award Jon Koontz (Aledo, Texas)
Ralph Lowe Sportsmanship Award Sam Carter (Alief, Texas)
G. Malcolm Louden Academic Achievement Award – John Wooldridge (Houston, Texas)
Special Teams Points Award – Jaden Oberkrom (Arlington, Texas)
Special Teams Most Valuable Player – Jaden Oberkrom (Arlington, Texas)
Defensive Most Valuable Player – Jason Verrett (Fairfield, Calif.)
Offensive Most Valuable Player – Trevone Boykin (Mesquite, Texas)
Dan Rogers Most Valuable Player – Jason Verrett (Fairfield, Calif.)