clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

James Cash Inducted Into SWC Hall of Fame

James Cash, the first African American basketball player in the Southwest Conference, is entering the SWC Hall of Fame with eight others.


From the desk of Matthew Hoover, Assistant Director of Athletic Media Relations:

The Texas Sports Hall of Fame announced nine new members into its 2014 class of inductees for the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame this week, including TCU great James Cash.

Cash joins Nolan Richardson (Arkansas), Walter Abercrombie (Baylor), Otis Birdsong (Houston), Harold Solomon (Rice), George McMillion (SMU), Jill Sterkel (Texas), Mark Johnson (Texas A&M) and Andre Tillman (Texas Tech) as members of the 2014 class.

Cash, who became the first African American to play in the Southwest Conference while lettering for TCU from 1967 through 1969, is one of only 32 players in TCU history to reach the 1,000-point milestone, finished his career in fifth place on the Frogs' all-time scoring list. He still sits fourth on the program's career rebounding chart with 856, an average of 11.6 boards per game. A product of Terrell High School in Fort Worth, Cash helped the Frogs win the 1967-68 SWC championship and advance to the second round of the NCAA Tournament. He also was a standout in the classroom, earning Academic All-America honors during his stint at TCU, and was later inducted into the TCU Letterman's Hall of Fame in 1984.

In addition to his basketball accomplishments as a Frog, Cash put together an accomplished career off the court following his athletic career. After receiving his bachelor's degree in math from TCU and both a master's in computer science and a Ph.D. from Purdue, he became the first African American Full Professor at the Harvard Business School, where he helped build the school's curriculum in the area of computer-based technology. He later served as chairman of the Harvard M.B.A. program from 1992 to 1995 and senior associate dean for Harvard Business School Publishing from 1998 until his retirement in 2003.

The Southwest Conference (SWC) Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. An induction ceremony and luncheon will take place at the Omni Hotel in Fort Worth on Monday, Oct. 20th, at 11:30 A.M. CT.