clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TCU's Best of the Best: Quarterback

A new series by Frogs O' War, the Best of the Best looks to rank the top player at each position (or unit) in the history of the school. And of course we'll be right every time.

Tom Pennington

Welcome to a new series, where the Frogs O' War staff tries to determine who is TCU's best of the best at each position. We've divided up the positions, and are doing all of the internet research necessary to make informed rankings that everyone will definitely agree with.

So with that, we start with the quarterbacks.

No. 3: Andy Dalton, 2007-2010

Dalton holds all of TCU's major career passing records including yards (10,314), touchdowns (71) and completion percentage (61.66%). While Casey Pachall broke a few of his single season records, really no TCU quarterback in the last eighty years can hold a candle to Dalton's career.

The Horned Frogs made a bowl game in all four years he was a starter, and following his sophomore, junior and senior seasons you could find TCU ranked in the final Top 10 in any and all of the major polls. Not to mention, he led TCU to it's first undefeated season since 1938 and a Rose Bowl victory in his final season.

No. 2: Sammy Baugh, 1934-1936

Slingin' Sammy Baugh led TCU to its first National Championship in 1935, and has passing numbers that resemble this era of football more than they do the one he actually played in. Baugh threw for 3,320 yards and 39 touchdowns in his three seasons with the Frogs.

To cap off the Frogs' national championship, Baugh led the team to a 3-2 win over LSU in the Sugar Bowl, and was named an All-American. Baugh also led the Horned Frogs to a win in the first-ever Cotton Bowl, a 16-6 win over Marquette. In 1936 he was once again named an All-American, and he finished fourth in the Heisman voting.

No. 1: Davey O'Brien, 1937-1938

Frankly, did you expect it to be anyone else? O'Brien brought a second National Championship to TCU along with the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award (oh yeah, all in the same season). His record for most passing and rushing attempts in a single season stood until just a few years ago. That national championship season also saw the Horned Frogs go undefeated, culminating in a 15-7 Sugar Bowl victory over Carnegie Tech.

Honorable Mentions: Max Knake (1992-1995), Steve Stamp (1978-1981)