clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gary Patterson Named AFCA Coach of the Year

TCU may need to renovate Amon G. Carter Stadium again, as Gary Patterson is going to need a bigger trophy case.

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

With the college football world's attention tuned to North Texas, TCU and coach Gary Patterson spent a considerable amount of time in the spotlight, despite their exclusion from the championship game being held in their backyard. Patterson was widely praised, by national writers and pundits in addition to the local media, for his handling of the Frog's snub, and the amount of class and composure he showed throughout the process. Today, Patterson was recognized for both his on the field accomplishments - namely leading his Frogs to a Big 12 title and a resounding defeat of Ole Miss - and his handling of the off the field exclusion, with the American Football Coach's Association Coach of the Year award.

The award, the only one of its' kind chosen exclusively by the coaches in the FBS, was presented to Patterson for the second time overall, as he was also voted the winner in 2009. It will join the Eddie Robinson, Walter Camp, AP, ESPN/Home Depot, CBS Sports, and Coach of the Year awards that Coach Patterson has already been awarded this year. Patterson was also the Woody Hayes recipient and is a finalist for the Bobby Dodd and Paul "Bear" Bryant awards. Additionally, Patterson was recognized as the AP and Chuck Neinas Big 12 Coach of the Year. Patterson has won an outstanding 18 Coach of the Year honors during his time at TCU.

Patterson is TCU's all time winningest coach and sports the fourth highest winning percentage among current coaches at 74.6%. He has won six conference titles, a Rose Bowl, and this year's Peach Bowl.

Congratulations to Gary Patterson for this and his other national awards, and we are so proud of his accomplishments and the way he has handled himself this year and each of his as a Horned Frog.