clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Trevone Boykin Named Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalist

Boykin joins 16 others on the list.

Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Trevone Boykin was named a Davey O'Brien Award semifinalist on Monday, joining 16 other quarterbacks, including Patrick Mahomes, Baker Mayfield, and Seth Russell. Boykin was a finalist for the award in 2014, which was eventually given to Marcus Mariota.

Here's more on Boykin and the award, from TCU SID Mark Cohen:

TCU's Trevone Boykin has been announced as a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award.

Presented annually to the nation's top quarterback, the Davey O'Brien Award is named after the TCU great who won the 1938 Heisman Trophy en route to leading the Horned Frogs to their second national championship in four seasons.

Boykin was one of three finalists for last year's Davey O'Brien Award.

Boykin ranks second nationally in total offense at 431.4 yards per game and third in passing efficiency with a 177.2 rating. He's completing 66.7 percent of his attempts with 28 touchdown passes and just five interceptions. He’s averaging 365.9 yards per game in the air and is also TCU's second-leading rusher with 524 yards on a 6.0 per carry mark.

The Dallas native has broken Andy Dalton's TCU career records for touchdown passes (83), total offense (12,041 yards) and touchdowns responsible for (108). Boykin's current streak of six straight games with at least 300 yards passing and 40 yards rushing is the longest in the FBS over the last 20 seasons.

in two of TCU's last three road games, Boykin led the Horned Frogs on a game-winning drive on their final possession. In the red zone this season, Boykin has 16 touchdown passes, no interceptions and five rushing touchdowns.