clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TCU Baseball Receives Big 12 Awards

TCU baseball has already started raking in awards from the regular season.

Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

The Big 12 released it's regular season awards earlier Tuesday, and TCU players were front and center. Cody Jones was named Big 12 Player of the Year, finishing the regular season hitting .364 with 4 home runs, 27 RBI and 25 stolen bases.

Conner Wanhanen was named Big 12 Freshman of the Year, after batting .346 on the season. Head Coach Jim Schlossnagle added to his personal trophy case, earning the Big 12 Coach of the Year award. This was the ninth season in his 12 years at the helm that TCU eclipsed the 40 win mark.

Despite TCU's incredible pitching staff, the Big 12 Pitcher of the Year award went to Oklahoma State's Michael Freeman. The Big 12 also released it's first, second, and freshman All-Big 12 lists, and there were Horned Frogs aplenty. Here are the full lists.

All lists and notes pulled from

Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Gage Green, Oklahoma State*^ C Sr. Wichita Falls, Texas/Rider
Shane Conlon, Kansas State*# INF Sr. Naperville, Ill./Central
Kolbey Carpenter, Oklahoma* INF Jr. Waco, Texas/West
Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma*^% INF So. Fort Worth, Texas/Keller Fossil Ridge
Donnie Walton, Oklahoma State^ INF Jr.. Tulsa, Okla./Bishop Kelley
Eric Gutierrez, Texas Tech*^ INF Jr. Mission, Texas/Sharyland
Connor McKay, Kansas+ OF Sr. Parker, Colo./Regis Jesuit
Craig Aikin, Oklahoma&+ OF Jr. Coppell, Texas/Coppell
Cody Jones, TCU@ OF Sr. Round Rock, Texas/Temple JC
Ben Johnson, Texas*@ OF Jr. Austin, Texas/Westwood
Anthony Hermelyn, Oklahoma UTL Jr. McKinney, Texas/McKinney North
Connor Wanhanen, TCU* DH Fr. Flower Mound, Texas/Flower Mound
Michael Freeman, Oklahoma State* LHP Sr. Broken Arrow, Okla./Eastern Oklahoma
Preston Morrison, TCU*^# RHP Sr. Waxhaw, N.C./Cuthbertson
Alex Young, TCU*& LHP Jr. Hawthorn Woods, Ill./Carmel Catholic
Cameron Smith, Texas Tech@ LHP Sr. Seabrook, Texas/New Mexico JC
Riley Ferrell, TCU*^ RHP Jr. College Station, Texas/A&M Consolidated
Corey Taylor, Texas Tech RHP Sr. Kennedale, Texas/Cisco JC
Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Michael Tinsley, Kansas* C So. Menlo Park, Calif./Junipero Sierra
Tim Arakawa, Oklahoma State+ INF Sr. Honolulu, Hawaii/Yavapai CC
Keaton Jones, TCU@ INF Sr. Laguna Beach, Calif./Laguna Beach
Tres Barrera, Texas% INF So. Eagle Pass, Texas/Mission Sharyland
Jackson Cramer, West Virginia INF So. Coppell, Texas/Coppell
Taylor Munden, West Virginia@ INF Sr. Lewisville, Texas/Marion Military Institute
Corey Hassel, Oklahoma State OF Jr. Stillwater, Okla./Stillwater
Ryan Sluder, Oklahoma State OF So. Amarillo, Texas/Amarillo
Stephen Smith, Texas Tech% OF So. Wolfforth, Texas/Frenship
Kyle Davis, West Virginia UTL Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio/Cincinnati Hills Christian
Cory Raley, Texas Tech DH Jr. Uvalde, Texas/Temple College
Ben Krauth, Kansas LHP Jr. Concord, Calif./Diablo Valley College
Nate Griep, Kansas State RHP So. Omaha, Neb./Millard West
Robert Tasin, Oklahoma RHP Sr. Klein, Texas/Howard College
Parker French, Texas RHP Sr. Dripping Spring, Texas/Dripping Springs
Jacob Evans, Oklahoma& LHP Jr. Broken Arrow, Okla./Broken Arrow
Dominic Moreno, Texas Tech RHP Sr. Farmington, N.M./Howard College
Honorable Mention
Baylor - Logan Brown, Daniel Castano, Adam Toth, Drew Tolson, Duncan Wendel
Kansas - Blair Beck, Matt McLaughlin, Justin Protacio, Stephen Villines
Kansas State - Max Brown, Corey Fischer, Tyler Moore, Tyler Wolfe
Oklahoma - Jake Elliott, Alec Hansen, Kyle Mendenhall
Oklahoma State - Trey Cobb, Remey Reed, Dustin Williams
TCU - Tyler Alexander, Nolan Brown, Jeremie Fagnan, Derek Odell, Evan Skoug, Dane Steinhagen, Trey Teakell, Mitchell Traver
Texas Tech - Tyler Neslony
West Virginia - Chad Donato, Justin Fox, Blake Smith, Ross Vance
Name, School Pos. Hometown/Previous School
Kameron Esthay, Baylor OF Moss Bluff, La./Sam Houston
Matt McLaughlin, Kansas* INF San Jose, Calif./Leland
Bryce Ward, Kansas State RHP Jenks, Okla./Jenks
Jacob Chappell, Oklahoma State INF Guthrie, Okla./Guthrie
Evan Skoug, TCU C Libertyville, Ill./Libertyville
Connor Wanhanen, TCU* DH Flower Mound, Texas/Flower Mound
Bret Boswell, Texas INF Rockwall, Texas/Rockwall-Heath
Michael Cantu, Texas* C Corpus Christi, Texas/Moody
Connor Mayes, Texas RHP Austin, Texas/Lake Travis
Orlando Garcia, Texas Tech INF El Paso, Texas/Americas
Kyle Davis, West Virginia* UTL Cincinnati, Ohio/Cincinnati Hills Christian
BJ Myers, West Virginia RHP Flower Mound, Texas/Flower Mound

Ties in voting created four first team outfielders.
Both first and second team catchers were unanimous selections, however the first team honoree received a higher finish in the weighted vote.
* Unanimous Choice
^2014 First Team Honoree
+2014 Second Team Honoree
@2014 Honorable Mention
%2014 All-Freshman Team Honoree
#2013 First Team Honoree
&2013 Second Team Honoree