clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College World Series Infographic Preview

With the 2015 College World Series kicking off on Saturday, here's everything you need to know about this year's field.

Andrew Felts

This year's College World Series field is loaded. Four national seeds are joined by four programs with rich baseball histories to create what will no doubt be a very competitive two weeks in Omaha. The eight teams in this year's field account for 15 of the last 36 National Championships as well as 85 total appearances in the College World Series.

Before first pitch, here's everything you need to know about this year's field!

The Bracket

The College World Series features eight teams in two brackets of four. Each bracket determines a champion using a double-elimination format, just like the Regional round. The two bracket champions will face off in a best-of-three National Championship Series from June 22-24.

TCU is in Bracket #2, joined by LSU, Vanderbilt, and Cal State Fullerton.

Bracket #2

Now that we've seen TCU's half of the bracket, let's get to know the teams competing.

LSU Tigers

LSU Infographic

TCU Horned Frogs

TCU Infographic

Vanderbilt Commodores

VU Infographic

Cal State Fullerton Titans

CSF Infographic


Waiting on the Other Side...

Bracket #1 is highlighted by two more national seeds in Florida and Miami. Here's a quick look at the other half of this year's CWS field.

Bracket #1

Bracket #1 Information


Road To Omaha

This year's field is made up nearly exclusively of teams from the south. Cal State Fullerton is the lone exception, coming from the west coast. Four SEC teams join TCU and Miami as representatives from the southern portion of the United States. Arkansas has the shortest "road to Omaha" at 417 miles while Fullerton will travel 1,541 miles to TD Ameritrade Field in Omaha.

CWS Travel Infographic


Best of the Best

As was mentioned previously, this year's College World Series field has quite the baseball history. The eight teams combine for 15 National Championships and 85 CWS Appearances. Miami leads the way with 24 appearances, while LSU has captured six titles in 17 appearances.

CWS History Infographic


TCU will open its College World Series journey on Sunday at 2:00pm against LSU. Stay tuned as Frogs O' War will be covering all angles of the College World Series over the next two weeks.

Until then, enjoy the games and Go Frogs.