clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gary Patterson, Davey O'Brien and Dutch Meyer statues to be dedicated in April

Of the three TCU football greats, Gary Patterson will be the only one without his own burger joint.

Ray Carlin-USA TODAY Sports

We knew a Gary Patterson statue was coming to TCU. As it turns out, per WFAA's Mike Leslie, there will be three football statues in front of the Schollmaier Arena: Patterson, Davey O'Brien and Dutch Meyer.

The statues will be dedicated April 2.

O'Brien is, of course, TCU's legendary quarterback, sole Heisman winner and namesake of the Davey O'Brien Award. He was TCU's starting quarterback from 1937-1938.

His coach, Meyer, led TCU to two national championships (1935, 1938). It's rumored that Meyer was the person who originated the phrase, "Fight 'em 'til hell freezes over, then fight 'em on the ice."

And take this for a fun fact -- both O'Brien and Meyer have on-campus burger joints named after them (O'Brien's in the Multipurpose Building and Dutch's on University Drive). Patterson will be the only person in the trio without his own burger restaurant.

Regardless, it's still a great honor and tribute to TCU football's past and present.

The real question is whether or not the shirt on Patterson's statue will change from black to purple in the afternoons.