clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nine Horned Frogs receive Big 12 Conference Honors

Seven more received honorable mentions.

NCAA Football: Kansas at Texas Christian Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

The Big 12 announced its 2017 conference awards on Thursday afternoon, and there were quite a few Horned Frogs included on all the lists. You can see the full awards list right here.

KaVontae Turpin, Ben Banogu, Mat Boesen, Travin Howard, Nick Orr, and Ranthony Texada all made the 2017 All-Big 12 Football First Team. The six Horned Frogs marked a tie for most representatives from a single team on the First Team roster (Oklahoma and Oklahoma State also had six players).

Meanwhile, Matt Pryor was the lone Horned Frog on the 2017 All-Big 12 Football Second Team.

Darius Anderson, Jeff Gladney, Cole Hunt, Joseph Noteboom, Austin Schlottmann, and Ty Summers were all Honorable Mentions.

Ben Banogu and Travin Howard were also tabbed as honorable mentions for Defensive Player of the Year, while Gary Patterson was an honorable mention for Coach of the Year, and KaVontae Turpin was an honorable mention for Special Teams Player of the Year.

Also, three Frogs received specific conference honors.

Ben Banogu | DE - Defensive Newcomer of the Year

Ross Blacklock | DT - Co-Defensive Freshman of the Year

Jalen Reagor | WR - Co-Offensive Freshman of the Year