clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

TCU MBB: Diamond Head Tournament Bracket Announced

New, 2 comments

The Frogs kick off the tournament against Charlotte.

NCAA Basketball: NCAA Tournament-First Round: Syracuse Orange vs TCU Horned Frogs Raj Mehta-USA TODAY Sports

We’re slowly learning more and more about TCU Men’s Basketball’s non-conference schedule for the upcoming season, and now we have details about the Diamond Head Classic. Here’s the release from TCU Athletics earlier on Wednesday.

TCU will face Charlotte in the first round of the 2018 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic as the bracket was released Wednesday.

The Horned Frogs and the 49ers are scheduled to play at 11:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. HT on Saturday, Dec. 22 on a network to be determined. All games will be played at the Stan Sheriff Center on the campus of the University of Hawai’i.

TCU is 0-2 all-time against Charlotte with the last meeting on Jan. 26, 2005, a 94-87 loss in Charlotte.

The winner of the game will play the winner of Rhode Island and Bucknell on Sunday, Dec. 23 at 9 p.m. CT/5 p.m. HT on ESPN2. The championship game will be on Tuesday, Dec. 25 at 8 p.m. CT/4 p.m. HT on ESPN2.

The first round matchups on the other side of the bracket are Indiana State-Colorado and UNLV-Hawai’i.

The Horned Frogs have appeared in most media outlets’ early top 25 rankings after a season where they made the NCAA Tournament for the first time in 20 years. TCU returns five players who made a significant amount of starts last season and welcome 10 newcomers.

So, as we know right now, TCU’s non-conference schedule includes Charlotte, and some combination of Rhode Island/Bucknell, Indiana State/Colorado, and UNLV/Hawai’i, as well as Oral Roberts, Cal State Bakersfield, USC, Fresno State, and Florida (as a part of the Big 12/SEC Challenge).

We don’t know when TCU will release their full schedule, but with the season coming up in just a few months, we know it’ll come soon.