clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TCU Basketball releases full non-conference schedule

Opening the new Dickies Arena highlights a solid preseason slate.

NCAA Basketball: Texas at Texas Christian Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

TCU Basketball will open the season on November 7th when they welcome Southwestern to Schollmaier Arena, one of 18 contests to be held on the Horned Frogs’ home floor.

In addition to the Pirates, the Frogs will host the Louisiana Ragin’ Cajuns, Air Force, UC Irvine, Illinois State, Winthrop, Lamar, Xavier, and George Mason.

The Frogs will be renewing a handful of old rivalries this fall, including Air Force, who was a regular opponent of TCU’s during the Frogs’ time in the Mountain West Conference. The all-time series between the two squads is tied at 8-8. TCU will play ULL for the first time since 1969 and Winthrop, UC Irvine, and George Mason (the former school of graduate transfer Jaire Grayer) for the first time in program history.

TCU is part of two cross-conference special games - hosting Xavier as part of the Big 12/Big East Scheduling Alliance on December 22nd and traveling to Fayetteville to take on Arkansas as part of the Big 12/SEC Challenge. Jamie Dixon’s squad will also participate in the MGM Resorts Main Event Tournament over Thanksgiving week, opening with Clemson and finishing with either Colorado over Wyoming in the two game set.

One of the most exciting games on the schedule is the second half of the home and home with USC - though TCU’s “home” game will be a few minutes down the road. The Horned Frogs will be a part of the first basketball game played at the brand new Dickies Arena (slated to host NCAA Tournament games in 2022) when they host the Trojans on December 6th. The Frogs thrashed SC by a score of 96-61 at Staples Center in LA a season ago.

The Big 12 Conference schedule as well as starting times and TV networks will be announced at a later date. Tickets for TCU’s nonconference games will go on sale Oct. 18. Big 12 Conference tickets will go on sale Dec. 14. Those interested in being placed on a wait list for TCU season tickets should visit the ticket office website.

The Frogs have three consecutive seasons of 20 or more wins under Jamie Dixon, something that has only been accomplished one other time in the program’s history - in the late 90’s under the legendary Billy Tubbs. TCU returns just four scholarship players this season from the 2018-2019 squad, senior Desmond Bane and sophomores RJ Nembhard, Kevin Samuel, and Russell Barlow. Despite the unusually high turnover in the program, there is plenty to be excited about with talented freshmen joining a couple of intriguing graduate transfers in Grayer and Edric Dennis (who was recently seen doing this to some poor dude).

Scheduling Notes

NCAA Tournament Teams: UC Irvine

NIT Teams: Clemson, Colorado, Xavier

20+ Win Teams: Clemson, Colorado, Lamar, UC Irvine

First Meetings: UC Irvine, George Mason, Winthrop