clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wallow, Moehrig named to Media Preseason All-Big 12 Team

The honors continue to roll in for two Horned Frog stars.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 09 Baylor at TCU Photo by Matthew Visinsky/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Senior linebacker Garret Wallow and junior safety Trevon Moehrig have heard their names called over and over again this off-season, as the honors have rolled in for the defensive duo ahead of the 2020 college football season.

Most recently, those honors include being voted as selections to the Media Preseason All-Big 12 Team, voted on by those who cover the conference and teams across multiple mediums.

TCU safety Trevon Moehrig and linebacker Garret Wallow have been selected to the Media Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team. Moehrig and Wallow were also named Phil Steele Preseason All-Americans and Moehrig is a Walter Camp Preseason All-American.

Moehrig was rated last year by Pro Football Focus as the nation’s top safety. PFF also graded him with the third-most valuable season in its college era.

According to a press release from TCU:

A first-team All-Big 12 selection in 2019, Moehrig allowed just two of 17 contested targets to be caught and took part in a team-best seven takeaways. The Spring Branch, Texas, native was second on TCU with 62 tackles, four interceptions and 11 pass breakups while tying for the team lead with two forced fumbles and a fumble recovery. Moehrig tied teammate and Minnesota Vikings’ first-round draft pick Jeff Gladney for second in the Big 12 and 14th nationally in passes defended at 1.25 per game.

Wallow was first-team All-Big 12 and honorable-mention Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year last season. He was also an honorable-mention All-American by Phil Steele.

A senior from New Orleans, Wallow led TCU and the Big 12 with 125 tackles, including 18 for loss with 3.5 sacks. The 125 stops ranked fourth in a season under Head Coach Gary Patterson. Wallow tied for ninth nationally in both tackles (10.4) and TFLs (1.5) per game.

Notable honorees include Preseason Offensive Player of the Year running back Chuba Hubbard of Oklahoma State and Defensive Player of the Year Darius Stills of West Virginia. Quarterback Spencer Rattler, the presumptive starter for Oklahoma, was given the nod as Preseason Newcomer of the Year.

To the surprise of no one, Oklahoma leads all programs with five first team selections, while Oklahoma State and Texas check in with four each. Texas Tech, Kansas State and Iowa State each had three selections, while TCU and Kansas placed two, and Baylor and West Virginia had one each.

You can see the teams in their entirety below:

QB Sam Ehlinger Texas

RB Pooka Williams Jr. Kansas

RB Chuba Hubbard Oklahoma State

FB Nick Lenners Kansas State

WR Andrew Parchment Kansas

WR Charleston Rambo Oklahoma

WR Tylan Wallace Oklahoma State

TE Charlie Kolar Iowa State

OL Creed Humphrey Oklahoma

OL Adrian Ealy Oklahoma

OL Teven Jenkins Oklahoma State

OLSamuel Cosmi Texas

OL Jack Anderson Texas Tech

PK Gabe Brkic Oklahoma

KR/PR Joshua Youngblood Kansas State

DL JaQuan Bailey Iowa State

DL Wyatt Hubert Kansas State

DL Ronnie Perkins Oklahoma

DL Eli Howard Texas Tech

DL Darius Stills West Virginia

LB Terrel Bernard Baylor

LB Garret Wallow TCU

LBJoseph Ossai Texas

DB Greg Eisworth Iowa State

DB Kolby Harvell-Peel Oklahoma State

DB Trevon Moehrig TCU

DB DShawn Jamison

DB Caden Sterns Texas

P Austin McNamara Texas Tech