clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 TCU Baseball Schedule Released

TCU Baseball announced its 2013 baseball schedule today, which features the Frogs playing several big weekend series during non-conference and it's first ever Big 12 Conference slate of games.

TCU baseball head coach Jim Schlossnagle released the 2013 scheduled today. The 53-game slate features 29 home contests and 17 games against teams that advanced to postseason play in 2012.

"We are looking forward to our first season in the Big 12 and a very challenging non-conference schedule in 2013," said Schlossnagle. "With the recent and very significant changes in how the RPI is calculated, it is essential that we schedule quality opponents on the road when possible. I trust that all TCU fans will make plans to buy season tickets and attend as many games as their schedules will allow."


TCU will open its 10th season under the direction of Schlossnagle on the road at 2012 NCAA College Station Regional opponent Ole Miss on Feb. 15. It marks the first time since the 2009 season that the Horned Frogs will open the season away from Lupton Stadium. The three-game series is slated to run from Feb. 15-17.

The home schedule begins Friday, Feb. 22 when the Horned Frogs welcome Cal State Fullerton back to Lupton for a three-game series. The Frogs and the Titans have become familiar foes on the baseball diamond, playing a series each of the last six seasons.

A four-game road trip follows beginning Tuesday, Feb. 26 at Dallas Baptist. From there the Frogs will head east to Florida for a three-game series at Jacksonville March 1-3.

An eight-game home stand commences March 8 when the Frogs welcome Pacific for a trio of games. Northwestern State heads to TCU March 12-13 for a midweek series. The homestand concludes March 15-17 when TCU plays its inaugural Big 12 series against Kansas. The Jayhawks are no strangers to Lupton Stadium, having opened the 2011 season in Fort Worth.

Tuesday, March 19 at UT Arlington begins a stretch of seven out of eight games away from home. The Horned Frogs will hit the road for their first Big 12 series away from Lupton when they travel to Norman for a three-game series against Oklahoma (March 22-24).

TCU returns home for a midweek contest against Dallas Baptist on March 26 before heading across the state for a road series at Texas Tech. The Horned Frogs and the Red Raiders have played a weekend series each of the last three seasons, but it'll be the first time they meet as conference foes since the 1996 season.

A nine-game homestand begins April 2 as the Frogs host UT Pan American for a two-game midweek series. TCU will take a break from conference play for a three-game series against San Francisco April 5-7. Stephen F. Austin heads to Fort Worth on April 10.

Conference action resumes April 12 when the Frogs host Oklahoma State. This will be the third straight season, the Frogs and the Cowboys will play a weekend series, but the first as conference opponents.

A brief trip to UT Arlington on April 16 breaks up the homestand before Baylor heads to Lupton Stadium on April 19 for a trio of games. TCU and Baylor have not played a weekend series since the 1996 season.

Three straight weekend series away from home begins April 26 when the Frogs head to Manhattan, Kan. for three games against Kansas State. TCU returns home briefly for an April 30 meeting against Texas Southern. A three-game series at USC follows beginning May 2.

The two newest members of the Big 12 will square off in Charleston, W. Va. May 10-12. While the opponent may be unfamiliar, the West Virginia coaching staff is very familiar to Horned Frog fans as all three have previously coached or played at TCU in the last six years.

TCU closes out the regular season with a four-game homestand beginning May 15 against UT Arlington. The Big 12 conference slate comes to a thrilling end May 17-19 when the Frogs host Texas. It will be the Longhorns first visit to Fort Worth since 1996.

The Phillips 66 Big 12 Conference Tournament is slated to begin May 22 and run through May 26. The tournament returns to the Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City.