clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Walter Camp Award Names Gary Patterson Winner

Coach P will be hitting the banquet circuit hard this winter, as he picks up another coach of the year honor.

Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

So, I guess he's pretty good at this whole football coach, thing, eh? Gary Patterson, who has already been named the Big 12 coach of the year, the Home Depot coach of the year, and the Eddie Robinson coach of the year, is now the Walter Camp winner as well. The award, which is voted on by all FBS coaches and sports information directors, will be presented on January 17th on the Yale University campus, as part of the foundations national awards banquet. Patterson will join the Walter Camp All Americans, Player of the Year Marcus Mariota, Distinguished American winner Verne Lundquist, Man of the Year honoree Jerome Bettis, and Alumnus of the Year Chad Hennings, in being recognized. Earlier this month, the Walter Camp Football Foundation recognized TCU linebacker Paul Dawson as a first team All American, and quarterback Trevone Boykin as a second team member.

Patterson joins Joe Paterno and Bob Stoops as the only multiple time winners of the prestigious honor, which has been awarded since 1967; he also took home the award in 2009. Named after the "Father of American Football", former Yale athlete and football coach Walter Camp, the foundation's goals are to "protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards".

Patterson was recently named a finalist for the Walter Dodd award, which is presented in conjunction with the Chick Fil A Peach Bowl, where Coach P and his Frogs will take on the Ole Miss Rebels on December 31st.